1st of the month “Reality check”

This grass over there looks so much nicer

This grass over there looks so much nicer....

I made a pact, that at the beginning of each month, that I would write a post that gives us a bit of a reality check.  To say to us all that…….The grass is not always greener on the other side and that we can be grateful for what we have now…….So here is our first one……….
Do you have the “when I ……….I will be happy” disease?  When we move we will be happy, when I get that dream job I will be happy, when I find my soul mate I will be happy, when I am rich I will be happy? What usually happens is when you reach one goal another one appears from nowhere….you are chasing the proverbial end of the rainbow?  Guess what??? Be grateful and try to be happy now and you will not need to chase rainbows. This is not to say don’t have goals or dreams but don’t think that happiness is unachievable until you reach that elusive goal…..be happy along the way. We put so much stress and pressure on ourselves when we play this game.  When you go on a holiday do you say we can only start having fun when we get to the destination or do you try to enjoy the entire trip, even from the planning stages?  Have a go at enjoying all of your life….even what seems to be mundane. This is our reminder that we are so lucky and as you read these words, at this exact moment, there are people in the world who have no idea when their next meal will be. Be grateful for what you have and not focussed on what you don’t. Suddenly, when put into perspective….life seems to be so much more special. Don’t you think?????

2 responses to “1st of the month “Reality check”

  1. The grass may seem greener on the other side of the fence but it still needs mowing!! I couldnt agree with you more on this one..I am totally enjoying the day, the moment and life is pretty darn fantastic. I am stopping to smell the roses and they smell great…there is much to be thankful for and much to be happy about….Instead of getting what you want….want what you’ve got (Buddah)

  2. Here! Here! Kakadoo……LOVE what you have and watch it grow. Be unhappy with what you have and that is all you will know……..Michelle (Me)

We'd love to hear from you...Please leave a comment..

