What do you take for granted?

I am so grateful for the sun today!

I am so grateful for the sun today!

What do you take for granted? Come on we all do it and may I suggest that we do it on a daily basis. Could it be: that you have a home; the fact that you have a job; a car to get to your job; the fact that you can speak your mind; that you have people in your life that care or even the simple fact that you can have 3 meals a day? Are you grateful every day for your health? Think back to a time when you had nasty flu or gastro? Do you remember how grateful you were when you finally recovered?  

“You don’t know what you have till you lose it” is a saying that comes to mind when I think about gratefulness.  Are there things in your life that you pay little attention too, but if suddenly they were taken away you would miss them horribly?                                                                                                                   Sometimes I think it helps to be gently reminded about what we should be grateful for. I try to be a glass half full type of gal…but sometimes life gets hectic, you get tired and busy……you know how it goes; you just seemed to get bogged down by it all. We need to realise that we are lucky and that life is not something that should be taken for granted………

You know those moments……When a sudden bout of illness makes you remember to be grateful for your health. When you see unemployment on the rise and you realise that you are lucky to have a job, even if it is not the perfect one. When you see a homeless person and you return to you warm, safe house, even if it is not your dream house. When you hear of parents losing their child in a tragic car accident and your children are safely at home……they might be annoying you but they are safe. When you watch the news and you see people living through war, famine and catastrophes and you know how removed from those tragedies you are? Our lives may not be perfect, but we are safe, loved, fed, and all have the potential for happiness. Just remember that nothing in life is too ordinary to take for granted.

Do you sometimes have to remind yourself of how lucky you are? What do you take for granted? Love to hear from you?

2 responses to “What do you take for granted?

  1. Hi fellow happy pigs, i cannot believe i am reading this today – almost one month after you have posted it but it is unbelievably relevant…this past month I have had some really difficult personal trials along with the flu and a sick child and I was starting to get really really bogged down and somewhat depressed..This morning when I woke up I consciously said to myself what do I have to be grateful for today…and the first thing was my warm bed, then my warm shower, food for breakfast, warm hugs from my son and a job to go to that pays the bills…I truly had to be conscious of this as my mind was kinda stuck in a feeling sorry for myself mode….and then I opened my emails which I hadnt looked at for nearly a month and I see this topic on gratitude and bam there it is another reminder to focus on what I have in my life which truly is marvelous…thanks xx

  2. Yes Kakadoodle, life can throw us some difficult curve balls at times. You are right…no matter what is going on, even through the tough times….there is always something to be grateful for. Hang in there! Thank you so much for your comments.

We'd love to hear from you...Please leave a comment..

