Do you ever feel like you are banging your head against a brick wall????

Why do I keep banging my head against the wall.....it hurts!

Why do I keep banging my head against the wall…..it hurts!

Do you ever feel like you are banging your head against a brick wall?  Albert Einstein’s must have known the feeling when he spoke these famous words “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”? Are you guilty of repeating the same thing over and over and wondering why things don’t change????????

One day, I was sitting outside reading and enjoying the sunshine when I saw a beetle trying to climb a little stone wall.  Poor little, determined bug, he tried and tried and tried again only to fall, land on his back, struggle, use enormous amounts of energy to flip himself over and do it all again over and over. Not once did he try to take a different route. I know bugs aren’t probably known for their large brains, but how frustrating was it for me to watch this poor creature try to do something that just was not going to work. I felt mean so after about 10 minutes, I picked him up and popped him on top of the stone wall that he had been trying to conquer. Then a funny little thought popped into my mind……what if someone was watching over me? Would I resemble that little bug doing the same thing over and over, banging my head against a brick wall and not making any headway? What in my life do I need to look at and make some changes to? No point just complaining, struggling, banging your head and not making any changes? Am I making a concerted effort to bring about positive change in areas of my life that seem to be causing me stress?

Now whenever these thoughts come my way I am also reminded of one of my other favourite sayings:

“Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.” By Reinhold Neibuhr

Yes, we can realize that we are banging our head against a wall and make an effort to try an alternative approach but we must also realize that there are some things in life that are simply beyond our control and that we cannot change. We must use our wisdom to recognize the difference and work with what we can change and accept/live with what we can’t.

When possible we need to be brave and creative to come up with new ways to do things that are simply not working and when this is not possible we need to be wise to alter our thoughts to stop fighting against things that we have no power to change.

Are there areas of your life: health; job; parenting; relationships; financial etc that are not working for you? Are you like that little bug doing the same thing over and over and getting the same annoying results? What can you do to make a change? Like Michael Jackson’s famous song Man in the Mirror says “I’m starting with the man in the mirror, I’m asking him to change his ways and no message could have been any clearer, if you want to make the world a better place take a look at yourself and then make the change”

What in your life can you change? Let me know? I’d love to hear from you…….

 

2 responses to “Do you ever feel like you are banging your head against a brick wall????

  1. Hi there pigs in mud, hope you are all happy now that Spring is in the air…I know I feel a whole lot better now that the sun is out, the birds are singing and I have started eating healthier and walking more often – I am out of hibernation. I love the serentity prayer also and often remind myself of that one – there is a lot I cannot control and then there are things I can…just like that beetle there are times when I need someone to come along and pick me up and put me on an easier/better path and usually it is my friends or something I read – like your blog. Thanks for more great words of wisdom and inspiration 🙂 Love and peace x

    • I hear you Kakadoodle! Sounds like Spring has the same affect on you as it does on me……you sort of want to Spring Clean your life and the warmer weather invites us to go on walks, eat better and think clearer.
      Thanks for your lovely words….Great to hear from you!

We'd love to hear from you...Please leave a comment..

