Are you an Inflator or a deflator??

I love being with you, you inflate me!

I love being with you, you inflate me!


Last night, on television, I watched one of my favourite Australian Comedians, Adam Hills, perform a show called “Inflatable boy”.
Adam is funny and in true Australian form, very down to earth. He had my daughter and me in stitches of laughter. As part of his show he tells the following joke:
“There was an inflatable boy who went to an inflatable school where all the students were inflatable, all the teachers were inflatable, and all the buildings were inflatable. One day he gets into trouble for bringing a pin to school and the headmaster says `You’ve let me down, you’ve let yourself down, you’ve let the whole school down”
Okay I know what you’re thinking…..that’s cute but it is not the funniest joke ever. Well no, but it is the next part of Adam’s story that brought tears to my eyes and a massive lump to my throat………. He went on to describe what life lesson he would give to his daughter, (when she is older), if she were to ask him what advice to pass onto her classmates in a speech. Adam’s advice was:
“Alright, tell them this. There’s an inflatable boy. Goes to an inflatable school where all the students are inflatable, all the teachers are inflatable. And then one day he thinks, “You know what? Maybe everyone’s inflatable. Maybe every single person on the planet’s inflatable or deflatable. And you can inflate or deflate everyone you come into contact with. And you know you’ve inflated someone, because afterwards they go like this [stands up tall, proud and strong] and you know you’ve deflated them, because afterwards they go like this [curls down into himself, looking sad and dejected] and if you can inflate as many people as you can, you’ve probably had a good life. How’s that sound?”
This story went off like a massive light bulb in my head and touched my heart.
I think it sounds awesome! What a fantastic life lesson and what a way to live.

Are you an inflator or a deflator? How about making a conscious effort from now on to be an inflator? How about being mindful of every interaction with those you come into contact with and how about making it a positive and inflating experience? You cannot help but be happier when you are having an encouraging impact on those around you. What a wonderful way of looking at how we relate with others. I know that this will certainly change the way that I communicate….what about you???
Let me know your thoughts?

6 responses to “Are you an Inflator or a deflator??

  1. Such a good comment. On the wall of our accommodation at the moment is a framed saying, similar to what you mention. Most people will have read it before, but some things should be repeated often to remind ourselves-
    A smile costs nothing but gives much.
    It enriches those who receive, without making poorer those who give.
    It takes but a moment yet the memory of it may last forever.
    A smile creates happiness in the home, fosters goodwill in business and is the sign of friendship.
    It brings rest to the weary, cheer to the discouraged sunshine to the sad and is natures best antidote to trouble.
    Yet a smile cannot be bought begged borrowed or stolen.
    For it is something of no value to anyone unless it is given away.
    Some people are too tired to give you a smile.
    Give them one of yours.
    No one needs a smile so much as he who has none to give.

  2. Well Hello Kerrie! Lovely to hear from you. A smile is worth it’s weight in gold and is so easy to pass on…..a genuine smile can easily make someone’s day! Lovely to hear from you and I am sending you a big cheesy grin right now! P.S Miss you guys!

  3. Kerrie, you brought a tear to my eye as my darling mum used to have that in our childhood home and she would recite it to me often – it brought back so many memories..you see my mum was always an inflator and even now in her nursing home she inflates those around her as she touches the hands of the nurses with kindness, smiles at the other patients, calls everyone darling and means it and tells them how beautiful they are – how kind they are to her…she showed the same grace and beauty when she was critically ill two years ago and as she suffered she would still tell people lovely things and encourage them…She is amazing and has taught me much about being an inflator and I hope I can be 1/2 the woman she has always been 🙂

    • Kakadoodle your mum sounds like an absolute darling. She obviously has passed on some great lessons and skills to you. I am sure she would be very proud of you!

  4. I love this one Michelle. I hope I can always be an inflator, as life goes on this story does make a ,lot of sense to me.. there are some people who just are deflators… definately makes you think about who you want to surround your self with. Don’t you always have those people who you just feel deflated after being around? and then of course the people you walk away from feeling really good. just to add Michelle… you are the later! Definately an inflator!

    • Yes Julianne it is so much nicer and easier to be around uplifting personalities rather than deflators……you are definitely on my list of inflators!
      Great to hear from you!

We'd love to hear from you...Please leave a comment..

